Contact us


All correspondence should be addressed to
The Secretary
Kangaroo Island Pioneers Association
10 Darlington Street, STURT SA 5047


Enquiries about membership, can be directed to:

The Membership Officer,
Kangaroo Island Pioneers Association
10 Darlington Street, STURT SA 5047

Newsletter Items

Any suitable newsletter items are welcome, and should be addressed to:
The Newsletter Editor
Kangaroo Island Pioneers Association
or through the Secretary.


Any correspondence relating to this website, should be addressed to:
The Website Manager


Financial donations can be made through the Secretary. Kangaroo Island Pioneers Association Inc is a registered charitable organisation.

Whereas our Association is interested in all things historical about Kangaroo Island, we regret that we do not accept donations of items that should really be housed in museums - such as Hope Cottage, Penneshaw or Parndana. However, we are happy to consider publishing suitably digitised images of such items, including documents and photographs, (subject to copyright provisions). If you wish to do this, please submit high definition images, accompanied by as much explanatory information as possible: provenance, people, places, and dates, along with a written statement that gives us permission to publish.


If your family is seeking assistance from KIPA in memorialising one of your ancestors, you will first need to submit an application. Click here for more information.

Research assistance

The Kangaroo Island Pioneers Association (KIPA) is happy to assist you with your research about Kangaroo Island where possible, but please be mindful that we are volunteers and our assistance will, of necessity, be limited. You might also consider placing a classified ad in the local newspaper. Or you might consider Facebook Groups such as Growing Up on Kangaroo Island. Please provide to us as much detail as possible of your research to date (with sources), particularly birth, marriage and death details, before we can agree to help you. More comprehensive assistance will normally be provided for financial members. For non members, a commensurate donation would be appreciated.

Finding things on this site

One of the best features of Google Sites is its searching capability. Click the magnifying glass on the top right of every page.

A successful search produces a list of search results (like any Google search). Clicking on your chosen result takes you to the page where your search string is located. Then use your computer's "Find" function, e.g. Ctrl-F to locate the word or phrase.

Office Bearers

as at Feb 2021
(Please note : all current committee members reside in Adelaide - not on the Island).


President Chris Ward
Newsletter editor Cheryl Williss
Vice-President Colin Routley
Secretary To be advised

Webmaster, To be advised

Facebook editor: David Wilson

Treasurer Anthea Taylor
Auditor Neil Waller
Historical research Chris Ward


Vickie Chapman M.P., Ian Gilfillan, Bruce Williams

Kangaroo Island

President Craig Wickham; Secretary Anne Arnold; Treasurer Cheryl May. Spokespersons: Bev Willson Penneshaw, Judy Buick American River, Jane Renwick American River

Patrons on K.I.

Jayne Bates, Ivy Wooton, Michael Pengilly (ex officio Mayor Kangaroo Island District Council)


past and present


Dene Cordes, Bill Holmesby, Bruce Williams, Robert Beare, Neil Waller, Coralie Soward, Neville Cordes, Gil Daw, Chris Ward

Kangaroo Island

Craig Wickham

Complaints. Information on this website has been published in good faith, mindful of copyright, privacy and cultural sensitivities. If you believe any of these aspects has been breached, in the first instance you are requested to write to the Website Manager, explaining your concerns. Please include the URL of the page to which you refer.